+ Reply to Thread
    BadAss
    Polish-American

Living in DavidABQ's second home, a cardboard box outside a strip club in beautiful downtown Corunna, Michigan.

Argon regulator repair. Anyone?

I've got a Victor HVTS argon regulator w/flow meter that is leaking in a few spots. I don't know anything about them, are they able to be rebuilt by nonprofessionals? I know it's just old, dry o-rings and such that are leaking, but I'd rather not damage myself or the regulator if I do something wrong.

Any ideas?

These things are $3-400 new I think I'll get mine fixed.

BadAss Hooligan

Re: Argon regulator repair. Anyone?

Let me check at work tomorrow.
    scotty1122@zoomtown.com

Need something transported?

(Trucks, cars, bikes, campers, trailers etc.)

11/22 Transport, LLC

ZRXBubba

Where is it leaking from ya skirt wearer?

BadAss Hooligan

I design specialty pressure regulators for a living, so I may be able to help you.

I'm not very familiar with this model, but most Victor regulators use a rubber diaphragm and a cartridge valve. The top (bonnet) unscrews and there may be a thrust bearing type of ring under the bonnet to prevent the diaphragm from twisting when the bonnet is tightened.

There is likely a threaded part in the center of the diaphragm to engage the nozzle pintle on the valve cartridge.

How is the regulator leaking? If you back off the pressure adjustment does it constantly leak, or does it only leak when you turn the pressure up?

If it constantly leaks with the output pressure backed off, your valve cartridge or cartridge to body seal is leaking. If you get leakage when you turn up the pressure, the diaphragm may be shot.

We make lots of high pressure regulators that can easily handle the 2000+ psi of an argon cylinder. But, we don't make welding gas regulators with the flow meter (rotameter) and flow control valve.

I might be able to "find" you a replacement regulator if you can reuse the CGA 590 nut and nipple, and the flowmeter.